Top 5 places you SHOULD visit in Japan

Hi Suzie here. Personally I’ve never been to Japan though I wish I could so if you have an extra ticket, I am your man girl. Heh heh heh. Jokes aside, it’s been a while since I last posted anything in this webbie of ours so I thought that I might as well do my part of the job (but since my internet is stubborn I’ll have to ask someone to post this for me)

Okay. The topic right now would be the top 5 places you SHOULD visit in Japan. This is a definite must if you want to taste Japan’s culture and sense of living.
Hit jump to continue

5) Mount Fuji
The first thing that comes to mind when I think of Japan is Mount Fuji. Not surprising since it is the most iconic landmark of Japan. It is perfect for climbing during the months of July and August. The best time to view (or to take pictures of it if you are not one of those fanatic mountain climbers) mount Fuji would probably be during the winter’s time because this is the time when it is the most clear.
Considered one of the three holy mountains in Japan, along with Tateyama and Hakusan, there is understandably a collection of shrines on the crater rim. Popular hiking routes to the summit are Gotemba, Fujinomiya, and Kawaguchiko. All of the trails have ten stations each, which are situated strategically to offer refreshments, lodging, and facilities for the hikers and tourists alike. (Try to keep this in mind if you DO have plans on hiking there).

MF MF2

Picture: Mount Fuji (Just look at it! It’s an almost perfect cone! Makes you wish you can lick the icing of it right? No? Well maybe I’m just hungry)

4) Himeji castle
While searching thru the net I came across this name and I thought, that sounds like an interesting place to go (reason being the fact that Himeji sounds like Hime – princess). So I thought, why not check it out? And boy, I am surprised at what I found. But before I tell you why, let me give you a super brief background on it. (Don’t read it! It’s boring! JK..)
Himeji Castle is often called by the familiar names of either Hakuro-jo or Shirasagi-jo, meaning “white heron” in Japanese, and there are various explanations why. One explanation involves how the white plastered walls of the main donjon and 3 small donjons connected to elevated ‘yagura’ (turret) corridors create an image of a white heron with its wings spread out to take flight. The castle, along with Horyuji Temple, was designated in 1993 as Japan’s first UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Site because of its utilization of high level architectural techniques spanning from the Azuchi-Momoyama period to the early stages of the Edo period (the 16th-17th century).
Now, back to the main point. Well apparently this particular castle is haunted by a ghost in a well. The name of this apparition is Okiku. According to legend, Okiku was once a beautiful servant who was in love with the Lord of the castle but she was wronged and got killed. For the full on story click here.
To inquire how to visit this place: HERE

HimejiHimeji2

Picture : Himeji Castle (now that does not look anything like a bird!)

3) Bomb dome

I first heard this from Bisagi-pyon (Nicholas) when he showed off his pictures in Facebook and I thought of searching about it. One thing is for sure, the building would leave you speechless especially if you find out the history of it. The A-Bomb Dome, also known as the Hiroshima Peace Memorial, is what remains of the former Prefectural Industrial Promotion Hall. The building served as a location to promote Hiroshima’s industries. When the bomb exploded, it was one of the few buildings to remain standing, and remains so today. A UNESCO World Heritage Site, the A-Bomb Dome is a tangible link to Hiroshima’s unique past.

I am sure all you people have studied a bit of history so you should know when the Atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima. Well, between the Museum and the A-Bomb Dome is the Cenotaph for the A-Bomb Victims. The Cenotaph is an arched tomb for those who died because of the bomb, either because of the initial blast or exposure to radiation. Below the arch is a stone chest holding a register of these names, of which there are over 220,000. That is like ¾ of Brunei population! Crazy creepy if you ask me.

Bomd Bomb

2) Yoshinoyama

Yoshinoyama is located in the Nara prefecture. Now what makes this place memoriable? Well get ready your camera, picnic basket and carpets because we going off to go cherry blossom viewing (hanami). Yoshinoyama (Mount Yoshino) has been Japan’s most famous cherry blossom viewing spot for many centuries. The mountain is covered by approximately 30,000 cherry trees. A perfect time to go cherry blossom viewing would be around mid- April.

Extra : There is also this one place called Arashiyama. Just wanted to add that in since our pres loves Arashi and guess what? The admission is free! (I would still go to Yoshinoyama cuz you know, Yoshi like that game character. Yeah, you are probably realizing how shallow my mind works right now)

Yoshino Arashi

Left: Yoshinoyama Right: Arashiyama (Picture speaks for itself, I mean which one of there is Pinker! (Though I think I might be changing my mind and going to Arashiyama instead)

1.Toyko

Where is the best place to actually learn people’s way of life? Why in the heart of the city of course! I mean that is where all the great people are. You have your otakus, your businessmen and your random psychopath round the mill pleasant people. I would place Kyoto a close second only because of the fact that Kyoto was once a well known geisha residence. (Not sure how factual that is cuz I only know about this from reading memoirs of a geisha which is a definite worth read!!)

Besides think of all the shopping centre there is (Well what can I say, I am a girl after all). Even if you are not a girl, you could always shop for you girlfriend and if you don’t have one well there’s always the manga store nearby? Eheh?

Well here is a very nice list of where to go in Tokyo : http://www.exploringtokyo.com/top-points-of-interest.php

It is definitely worth looking thru.

TokyoTower

No we are not in paris, that is Tokyo tower! Pretty neat right? Who copied who I wonder?

 

 

 

 

 

Akihabara

 

Akihabara Electric Town – a worthy place to buy animes and mangas!

 

 

 

 

 

Kabukcho

Kabukcho – the red light district of Kyoto, (would definitely steer clear especially if you a girl but if you are a guy then GO AHEAD AND HAVE FUN)

Well that the end of Suzie’s choo choo train express my post. I hope you guys have a blast (and had fun reading this and not just looking at the pictures!!). This is Suzie and I approve this post ;). Until next time~

Sources:

Top ten places to visit in Japan 

Popular hanami spots

EXTRA

This is from the President. To add on to Suzie’s picture of Tokyo tower, last year, Tokyo Tower was lit in 5 different colours, symbolizing the colour of each Arashi member. (Blue, Red, Green, Purple and Yellow. 🙂 )

This event was prior to Hana Arashi. More information: here

Enjoy these beautiful pictures of 5-coloured Arashi Tokyo Tower ❤ ❤ !!

att4

6841431668_bd475d9a6a_z

Yes, I’m just bias towards Arashi so any chance possible, I’m posting about Arashi ❤❤

Pictures credits to respective owners. I do not own the pictures.

You guys may as well enjoy this video if you wish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

